Skip to main content

SAF Forestry Club

forestry club logo

The Society of American Foresters (SAF) is the national scientific and educational organization representing the forestry profession in the United States. The mission of SAF is to advance the science, education, technology, and practice of forestry; to enhance the competency of its members; and to use the knowledge, skills, and conservation ethic of the profession to ensure the continued health and use of forest ecosystems and the present and future availability of forest resources to benefit society. As a student member, you will receive the latest information through the Journal of Forestry and The Forestry Source; be able to meet and interact with the top leaders and experts in the profession; exchange ideas and info with other students; have access to the SAF website; and receive many other benefits.


The SAF Forestry Club is designed to help students learn more about their future careers while having fun and socializing with people of similar interests. Pre-professional, professional, and graduate students attend bi-weekly meetings to listen to speakers from a variety of forestry professions. Refreshments, food, and chances to meet other students are provided. The Club is involved in hosting a variety of School activities, FFA Forestry Field Days, and participating in the intercollegiate ASFC Conclave event. Conclave is a competition among 15 colleges and universities with forestry programs across the Southeast. Students compete in a variety of physical and technical events, including log birling, log chopping, crosscut saw, dendrology, and timber volume estimation.

The Forestry Club is an informative, yet relaxed, way to find out about issues and opportunities in forest resources. Meetings are announced through e-mail and bulletin board messages.

Officers: 2018-2019

President Harrold Wheeler
Vice President Scarlett Barber
Firewood Chair Ethan Dobberstein
Secretary/Treasurer Clay Whitehead
SAF Chair Michael Buchannon
Advisor Dr. Bronson Bullock

Past Officers

  2016-17 2015-16 2014-15
President Blake Sherry Shane Mathews

Matt Gibson

Vice President James Carr Blake Sherry

Giles Moree

Treasurer/Secretary Justin Rectenwald Kendra Wiard

Chandler Lipham

Firewood Chair Michael Buchanan Alexander Barfield

Dewey Sherrer


SAF Chair   Kathleen Garcia

John Perren

Historian/Other Knox Martin    
Faculty Advisor Dr. Bronson Bullock Dr. Dick Daniels
Mr. Bob Izlar
Dr. Dick Daniels


Every year, the forestry club sells firewood as the primary club fundraiser. The cost per face cord is $90 for pickup, and $100 for delivery. A face cord is roughly one load on a standard truck bed. We can cut to length if a certain length is desired, just let me know in advance. We will set up a delivery time that coincides with the both of our schedules. Payment is due upon delivery. Cash or checks made payable to The Forestry Club are accepted.

NEW: We will be offering bundles for apartment dwellers or those who don't have storage for a full or half face cord. Pricing has not been confirmed but will be in the $5 range for a bundle.

For Fall 2018 firewood purchases contact the Firewood Chair named on the officer list above.




Merchandise is available for purchase on your next visit to campus or may be sold at select Warnell events. Please coordinate with Jenny Yearwood if you are interested in purchasing merchandise.