Skip to main content

Forest Biology

Faculty

Biotechnology/Molecular Biology/Genomics

Scott Harding sharding@uga.edu
John Maerz jcmaerz@uga.edu
Scott Merkle smerkle@uga.edu
Joseph Nairn nairn@uga.edu
C.J. Tsai cjtsai@uga.edu

Ecology

Doug Aubrey daubrey@srel.uga.edu
Kamal Ghandi kgandhi@warnell.uga.edu
Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
Elizabeth King egking@uga.edu
Daniel Markewitz dmarke@uga.edu
Nathan Nibbelink nate2@uga.edu
Robert Teskey rteskey@uga.edu
Dehai Zhao zhaod@uga.edu

Genetics

Scott Merkle smerkle@uga.edu
C.J. Tsai cjtsai@uga.edu

Physiology

Doug Aubrey daubrey@srel.uga.edu
Robert Teskey rteskey@uga.edu

Wood Quality

Bronson Bullock BronsonBullock@uga.edu
Joseph Dahlen jdahlen@uga.edu
Richard Daniels ddaniels@warnell.uga.edu
C.J. Tsai cjtsai@uga.edu

Health and Protection

Kamal Gandhi kgandhi@warnell.uga.edu

 

Tree growth and the development of forest stands are both controlled by a complex suite of biological and physical factors. The primary goal of the Forest Biology program is to generate and maintain healthy, productive forests by studying basic biological processes that influence forest development and function. The interaction of these processes with each other and with the physical environment also are studied by many of our faculty. Areas of specialization within Forest Biology include biotechnology, ecology, genetics, physiology, silviculture and soils. Integration of areas is encouraged. Advanced degrees in these areas can lead to careers in government, university and industrial research, and when appropriate, to careers in forest land management. Interdisciplinary programs combining forest resources with other fields, such as plant sciences, biochemistry, or genetics, also are available.