Skip to main content

Wildlife Science


The graduate program in Wildlife Science is designed to provide a strong background in the biological, ecological, and managerial aspects of the wildlife profession. The wildlife faculty are active in a variety of graduate teaching and research areas, including population dynamics, community ecology, physiology and nutrition, behavioral ecology, wildlife diseases and population health, habitat management, nongame and endangered species, urban wildlife management, wildlife damage management, conservation biology, and biometrics. Federal cooperative research and service units in the Warnell School bring additional adjunct faculty to the graduate wildlife program from the U.S. Department of Interior and U.S. Department of Agriculture. Several wildlife faculty have collaborative teaching and research relationships with other academic units on campus, such as the Odum School of Ecology, the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and the Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study at the College of Veterinary Medicine. These associations provide opportunities for interdisciplinary research projects.


Wildlife Science can be pursued under the MNR, MS, and PhD degree programs. Course requirements are currently at the discretion of major professors.


For general questions about pursuing a graduate degree at Warnell, contact a member of the graduate team (sidebar, right). Prospective students should also contact faculty members for questions specific to this disciplinary area. Please check faculty members’ personal pages (linked below) for information about their individual research interests and projects to ensure that you are contacting the most relevant ones.

James Beasley
Steven Castleberry
Michael Chamberlain
Richard Chandler
Gino D'Angelo
Travis DeVault
Guha Dharmarajan
Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman
Sonia Hernandez
Brian Irwin
Elizabeth King
Michel Kohl
John Maerz
James Martin
Michael Mengak
Clinton Moore
Nathan Nibbelink
Elizabeth Pienaar
Gene Rhodes Jr.
Clark Rushing
Brian Shamblin
Tracey Tuberville
Michael Yabsley