Skip to main content

Wildlife Science

The graduate program in Wildlife Science is designed to provide a strong background in the biological, ecological, and managerial aspects of the wildlife profession. The wildlife faculty are active in a variety of graduate teaching and research areas, including population dynamics, community ecology, physiology and nutrition, behavioral ecology, wildlife diseases and population health, habitat management, nongame and endangered species, urban wildlife management, wildlife damage management, conservation biology, and biometrics. Federal cooperative research and service units in the Warnell School bring additional adjunct faculty to the graduate wildlife program from the U.S. Department of Interior and U.S. Department of Agriculture. Several wildlife faculty have collaborative teaching and research relationships with other academic units on campus, such as the Odum School of Ecology, the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and the Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study at the College of Veterinary Medicine. These associations provide opportunities for interdisciplinary research projects.

Curriculum

Wildlife Science can be pursued under the MNR, MS, and PhD degree programs. Course requirements are currently at the discretion of major professors.

Faculty 

For general questions about pursuing a graduate degree at Warnell, contact a member of the graduate team (sidebar, right). Prospective students should also contact faculty members for questions specific to this disciplinary area. Please check faculty members’ personal pages (linked below) for information about their individual research interests and projects to ensure that you are contacting the most relevant ones.

James Beasley beasley@srel.uga.edu
Steven Castleberry scastle@uga.edu
Michael Chamberlain mchamberlain@warnell.uga.edu
Richard Chandler rchandler@warnell.uga.edu
Robert Cooper rcooper@warnell.uga.edu
Gino D'Angelo gdangelo@uga.edu
Travis DeVault travis.devault@uga.edu
Guha Dharmarajan guha@uga.edu
Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
Sonia Hernandez shernz@uga.edu
Brian Irwin irwin@uga.edu
Elizabeth King egking@uga.edu
Michel Kohl michel.kohl@uga.edu
John Maerz jcmaerz@uga.edu
James Martin martinj@warnell.uga.edu
Michael Mengak mmengak@uga.edu
Karl Miller kmiller@warnell.uga.edu
Clinton Moore ctmoore@uga.edu
Joseph Nairn nairn@uga.edu
Nathan Nibbelink nate2@uga.edu
Gene Rhodes Jr. rhodes@srel.uga.edu
Tracey Tuberville tubervil@uga.edu
Michael Yabsley myabsley@uga.edu