Skip to main content

Water, Soils & Environmental Systems

Faculty

Hydrology and Environmental Systems

Dalia Abbas dabbas@uga.edu
Rhett Jackson rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
Todd Rasmussen trasmuss@uga.edu
Susan Wilde swilde@warnell.uga.edu

Invasive Species 

Brian Irwin irwin@uga.edu
Clinton Moore ctmoore@uga.edu

Rangelands 

Elizabeth King egking@uga.edu

Soils 

Michael Kane mkane@warnell.uga.edu
Daniel Markewitz dmarke@uga.edu
Lawrence Morris lmorris@uga.edu

Waste Recycling and Treatment 

Dalia Abbas dabbas@uga.edu
Rhett Jackson rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
Lawrence Morris lmorris@uga.edu

 

This program considers the physical, hydraulic, chemical and biological processes affecting soil and water resources. Studies are directed toward the development of skills to observe, understand, model, and manage complex environmental systems. Research areas include MS and PhD degrees in hydrology, forest soils, and water quality and environmental systems. These areas offer students the ability to focus on surface and subsurface fluid flow processes, contaminant fate and transport, forest soil processes, environmental systems analysis, and treatment processes for contaminant removal. Additional opportunities exist for interdisciplinary studies with programs in ecology, geology, crop and soil sciences, biological and agricultural engineering, natural resources policy, environmental health sciences, geography, fisheries, wildlife, and environmental design. Graduates of these areas find employment in industry, consulting firms, and government agencies dealing with matters related to environmental issues.