Skip to main content

Natural Resources Management and Sustainability

Faculty

 

Geographic Information Systems

Pete Bettinger pbettinger@warnell.uga.edu
Chris Cieszewski biomat@warnell.uga.edu
Jeff Hepinstall jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
Nathan Nibbelink nate2@uga.edu

Hydrology and Environmental Systems

Rhett Jackson rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
Todd Rasmussen trasmuss@uga.edu
Susan Wilde swilde@warnell.uga.edu

Rangelands 

Elizabeth King egking@uga.edu

Remote Sensing

Chris Cieszewski biomat@warnell.uga.edu
Jeff Hepinstall jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu

Soils 

Michael Kane mkane@warnell.uga.edu
Daniel Markewitz dmarke@uga.edu
Lawrence Morris lmorris@uga.edu

Waste Recycling and Treatment 

Rhett Jackson rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
Lawrence Morris lmorris@uga.edu

 

Environmental systems are spatial and stochastic. Studies in this program are directed toward the development of skills to observe, understand, model, and manage complex environmental systems. Research areas include MS and PhD degrees in hydrology, forest soils, and water quality and environmental systems. Geographic information systems (GIS) are useful for organizing, viewing, manipulating and analyzing these data to improve our understanding of ecosystem interactions, and address concerns and optimize opportunities in resource management. The goal of this graduate study area is the advancement of our understanding of environmental systems in the context of spatial and temporal variability. Graduates of these areas find employment in industry, consulting firms, and various government agencies. The Program of Study is determined by the research interests of the student and the guidance of the student’s advisory committee. A partial list of research foci includes:

  • Hydrologic resources and water quality protection
  • Contaminant fate and transport
  • Forest soil processes
  • Environmental systems analysis
  • Multiple resource models and management
  • Relationships between decision support systems and data accuracy and scale
  • Timber inventory and long-term production management
  • Wastewater treatment processes
  • Wildlife habitat models