Skip to main content

Fisheries Science

microscope

Areas of concentration include fish ecology, fisheries management, population dynamics, aquaculture, fish physiology, and aquatic toxicology, and harmful algae. These areas are strongly supported by other programs on campus, including the Odum School of Ecology, the Georgia Sea Grant Program, the Savannah River Ecology Laboratory, the U.S.G.S. Biological Resources Division, Georgia Cooperative Fisheries and Wildlife Unit and Patuxent Wildlife Research Center. Students completing graduate degrees in Fisheries Science are prepared for employment in academia, federal and state agencies, and in the private sector.

Curriculum

Fisheries Science can be pursued under the MNR, MS, and PhD degree programs. To pursue Fisheries Science as an official Area of Emphasis (MNR only), the following courses are required:

MNR Fisheries Science requirements

Faculty

For general questions about pursuing a graduate degree at Warnell, contact a member of the graduate team (sidebar, right). Prospective students should also contact faculty members for questions specific to this disciplinary area. Please check faculty members’ personal pages (linked below) for information about their individual research interests and projects to ensure that you are contacting the most relevant ones.

Robert Bringolf bringo@uga.edu
Adam Fox agfox@uga.edu
Gary Grossman  grossman@uga.edu
Marty Hamel hamel@uga.edu
Brian Irwin irwin@uga.edu
Cecil Jennings jennings@uga.edu
Jay Shelton jshelton@uga.edu
Tracey Tuberville tubervil@uga.edu
Susan Wilde swilde@warnell.uga.edu