Skip to main content

Communications and Media Relations

For general Warnell inquiries, please contact Public Relations Coordinator Sandi Martin at 706-542-2079 or at smartin@warnell.uga.edu.

The Warnell School has many faculty members who are experts on a diverse number of topics. If you know which area of expertise you need comments for, you can contact them directly:

Fisheries and Aquatic Science

Robert Bringolf 
706-542-4284 or bringo@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: ecotoxicology, fish biology, freshwater mussels

Cecil Jennings 
706-542-4837 or jennings@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: The effects of development and sedimentation on fish populations and fish survivability in rivers and streams, fish ecology, fisheries biology and management, and fish population dynamics, Georgia fisheries.

Doug Peterson 
706-583-2944 or dpeterson@warnell.uga.edu 
Areas of expertise: Ecology, life history, and population dynamics of North American sturgeons and Sturgeon Aquaculture.

James L. Shelton, Jr. 
706-542-3108 or jshelton@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Fisheries, aquaculture, water quality, aquatic weeds, pond management, threatened aquatic species, water quality management in aquaculture, and fisheries biology.

Susan Bennett Wilde 
706-542-3346 or swilde@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: algal taxonomy, aquatic ecology, reservoir limnology, invasive aquatic plants and animals, impacts and management of harmful algal blooms  

Forestry

Elizabeth Benton
229-386-3078, ebenton@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Forest insects, insecticide use in forests, environmental effects of insecticides

Pete Bettinger 
706-542-1187 or pbettinger@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: forest planning, forest management, geographic information systems, forest operations, and global positioning systems. He is also a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Artificial Intelligence.

Alexander Bucksch
706-542-1823, bucksch@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Food security, Computational Plant Science, Root biology, Phenotyping

Kim Coder 
706-542-9050 or kcoder@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Tree biology, urban forestry, community trees, tree health care, arboriculture, aboritecture, landscape trees, tree pollen, fall leaf color, drought and trees, lightning and trees, tree biomechanics, tree structure, tree hazards, construction damage and trees, tree appraisal, urban forest ecology, storm damage and trees, and cultural and physiological connection with trees, ice storms.

Joseph Conrad
706-542-9225, jlconrad@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: timber harvesting, timber transportation, wood-energy harvesting, logging businesses, forest management

Kamal J. Gandhi 
706-542-4614, 706-247-4025 or kjgandhi@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: forest entomology and forest health and protection issues; patterns of invasion by non-native insects; community ecology; insect-plant interactions; effects of forest disturbances on insects

W. Dale Greene
706-542-4741, 706-540-2862 (cell) or wdgreene@uga.edu.
Areas of expertise: Biomass harvesting, timber harvesting, transportation, forest management, logging business

Kris M. Irwin 
706-542-7412 or kirwin@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Instructional design, environmental education, environmental literacy, global service-learning and Peace Corps.

Bob Izlar 
706-542-6819 or bizlar@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Okefenokee, financial engineering, ad valorem taxes, forest business

Ben Jackson 
706-542-9051 or bjack@uga.edu 
Areas of expertise: Timber harvesting, wood for energy, forest roads, forest best management practices for water quality, non-timber forest products, and distance education

Dan Johnson
706-542-5055, danjohnson@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: tree physiology, tree water use, and drought tolerance

Scott Merkle 
706-542-6112 or smerkle@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: forest biotechnology, genetics, phytoremediation, cell and tissue culture of forest trees, genetic transformation of forest trees, American chestnuts

Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management

Bynum Boley 
706-583-8930, bboley@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Tourism development, sustainable tourism, geotourism, ecotourism, resident attitudes towards tourism, and impacts of tourism

Gary Green 
706-542-6556, 706-296-3029 or gtgreen@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Natural resource management, recreation participation and activity trends, and human-dimensions of natural resources.

Michael Tarrant 
706-583-0901 or tarrant@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Management practices and visitors' actions in recreation and wilderness areas, including assessments of carrying capacities, acceptable behaviors, and crowding. Applications of geographic information systems to understand human - environment relationships and dependencies. Social justice issues in environmental practices on federal lands. Factors influencing environmental values, attitudes, and behaviors of both the recreating and general public, especially as they relate to wildlife conservation and management. The development of technology-based communication techniques used to assess human - environment relationships.    

Water and Soils

C. Rhett Jackson 
706-542-1772 or rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: hydrology, land-use change, stormwater management, watershed planning, wetlands, aquatic habitat, hurricane, levee, Hurricane Katrina

Daniel Markewitz 
706-542-0133 or dmarke@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Water quality, water chemistry, soil chemistry, nutrient runoff, nitrogen, phosphorus, fertilization, soil erosion

Lawrence A. Morris 
706-542-2532 or lmorris@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Soil and nutrition management, Forest land utilization of waste and wastewater, and root-soil interactions.

Todd Rasmussen 
706-542-4300 or trasmuss@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: surface water, groundwater, water quality, coil physics, numerical modeling and TMDLs    

Wildlife

James Beasley
803-725-5113, beasley@srel.uga.edu
Areas of expertise:  Wild pig ecology and management, carnivore ecology, game management, scavenging ecology, human-wildlife interactions

Michael J. Chamberlain
706-542-1181 or mchamberlain@warnell.uga.edu 
Areas of expertise:  black bear, coyotes, game management, predators, white-tailed deer, wild turkeys

Michael J. Conroy 
706-542-1167 or mconroy@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Population estimation, sampling, modeling, decision theory, adaptive management

Robert Cooper 
706-542-6066 or rcooper@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Avian ecology, ecosystem management, conservation ecology, and quantitative ecology. He has done several studies related to the decline of songbirds.

Gino D'Angelo
706-542-3929, gdangelo@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: game management, white-tailed deer, predators, hunting, wildlife-human conflicts

Gary Grossman
706-255-9082 or grossman@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: fisheries, aquatic conservation (animals not nutrients), wildlife ecology, general animal ecology

John Maerz
706-705-2003, jcmaerz@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: wildlife conservation, amphibians, reptiles, invasive species

Michael T. Mengak 
706-583-8096 or mmengak@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Management and control of wild pigs, nuisance wildlife management, urban wildlife management, Allegheny woodrat conservation, ecology of the Blue Ridge and Appalachian Mountains.

Mark McConnell 
706-542-3277 or mdm@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: Gamebird ecology and management, wildlife management in working landscapes, agriculture-wildlife conservation, precision agriculture, geospatial technology, GIS, avian ecology, forest management, population dynamics. 

Karl V. Miller 
706-542-1305 or kmiller@warnell.uga.edu
Areas of expertise: white-tailed deer, game management, herbicides, bats, songbirds, forest management, predators, coyotes.

Nathan Nibbelink 
706-542-9853 or nate2@uga.edu
Areas of expertise: GIS, spatial analysis, species distribution modeling fish ecology, individual-based modeling